Bars & Beverages for the Drinking Man/Woman

A Drinking Man’s (and Drinking Woman’s) Program, Landmark Bars and  the Story of Wine:  Jurgen Lijcops, Bar BurBure, Antwerp Belgium,  www.barburbure.be,150 Bars you need to Visit before You Die; Charles Schumann, Founder, The American Bar, Munich Germany. http://schumanns.de/en/index.html, The American Bar: The Artistry of Mixing Drinks; Kevin Begos, Chapel Hill NC, https://www.kevinbegos.com/index.html,  Tasting the Past: The Science of Flavor and the Search for the Origins of Wine.

Recipes & Stories from The Rockies, Norway & Yunnan China

Up, Up and Away. Three Chefs tell their stories and recipes about Places that are High or Far Away: Marla Meredith, Telluride CO, https://marlameridith.com/, High Alpine Cuisine; Nevada Berg, Numedal Norway, http://www.northwildkitchen.com/,  North Wild Kitchen: Home Cooking from the Heart of Norway; Georgia Freedman, Richmond CA, http://georgiafreedman.com/, Cooking South of the Clouds (Yunnan Province , China).

Stylish Devices for use with Food & Drink

Today we talk about two iconic & mindful product lines for stylishly processing food & drink: Marie Vavassori-Fundis, Peugeot, Mills & Spices, Wine Opener, Paris, France, http://www.peugeot-saveurs.com/, April Strogen, Capresso, Electric Kettles and Coffee Makers, including the Pour-over Kettle & the Coffee Team Pro Plus https://www.capresso.com/about-capresso.

 

Perspectives on Food & Drink in he American South

Three Southern (USA) perspectives: Kathleen Purvis, Journalist & Blogger, Charlottte Observer & http://kathleenpurvis.com/blog/, Distilling the South: A Guide to Southern Craft Liquors; Perre Coleman Magness, Memphis TN, https://www.cookstr.com/users/perre-coleman-magness, Southern Snacks; 77 Recipes for Small Bites with Big Flavors: Sara Foster, Owner, Foster’s Market, Durham NC, https://www.fostersmarket.com/, Pie: a Savor the South Cookbook.

London's Gunpowder. Vermont's Dosas, Paste in Tubes. Guide use of Spices

“Spice is Nice” – OTM gets great Insight on how to use Spices in Your Kitchen: Harneet Bawega, Devina Smith & Nirmal Save, Spice Flavor Combinations from the Famous Gunpowder Restaurant, London UK, http://www.gunpowderlondon.com/, Gunpowder: Explosive Flavors from Modern India; Nash Patel & Leda Scheintaub, Owners, Dosa Kitchen Food Truck & Leda’s Kitchen, Brattleboro VT, http://ledaskitchen.com/dosa-kitchen/, Dosa Kitchen: Recipes for India’s Favorite Street Food; Richard Lassale, Founder, Entube, Los Angeles, https://www.entube.la, Creatively Packaged Spice Pastes, in Tubes & Tins.

Rum Makes a Big Comeback, from Barbados, Puerto Rico, even Washington DC

Rum, the Original Distilled Beverage, is making a Big Comeback. OTM interviews the Author of a Definitive Book, plus three producers of today’s new Style Rums: Wayne Curtis, Contributing Editor, The Atlantic, http://wayne-curtis.squarespace.com/about/, And a Bottle of Rum: A History of the New World in 10 Cocktails (revised & updated); Matt Strickland, Head Distiller, District Distilling, Buzzard Point Barrel-Aged Rum, Washington DC, http://www.district-distilling.com/; Roberto Serralis, Business Development VP, Don Q, Double-Aged Vermouth Cask Finish Rum, Ponce Puerto Rico, https://donq.com/; Kayla Mata, Brand Ambassador, Mount Gay Rum, Barbados, https://www.mountgayrum.com/.

A Pittsburgh Chef's Gathering for Charity; How to Cook Fish & Seaweed

Pittsburgh Area Chefs “Gather” at a Farm Dinner benefiting The Bradley Center, plus insights into cooking fish & perspectives re Seaweed: Tony Verdream, Executive Chef, Pines Tavern, Gibsonia PA, http://www.thepinestavern.com/,  & participating Chef in “Gathering of Chefs”, a Farm to Fork Event http://www.thebradleycenter.org/gatheringofchefs/; Joe Gurrera, Owner, Citarella Seafood Shops, NY area, https://www.citarella.com/, Joe Knows Fish: Taking the Intimidation out of Cooking Seafood; Susan Hand Shetterly, Seaweed Expert, Coast of Maine, http://www.susanhandshetterly.com/, Seaweed Chronicles: a World at the Water’s Edge.

 

 

Bruce Weinstein & Mark Scarbrough's Kitchen Short Cuts, Food Fast, Instant French

What’s going on in the Kitchen?  Bruce Weinstein & Mark Scarbrough, Owners, MediaEats, https://www.mediaeats.com/, The Kitchen Short Cut Bible: More than 200 Recipes to make Real Food Real Fast; Ann Mah, Food & Travel Writer, Washington DC & Paris, http://www.annmah.net/, Instantly French; Mardi Michels, French Teacher & Blogger, Toronto, https://www.eatlivetravelwrite.com, In the French Kitchen with Kids.

From Traditional to Modern, Spanish, Nordic, the Levant

Translating Traditional International Cuisine into Exciting Modern Dishes & Flavors: Jonah Miller & Nate Adler, Partners, Huertas Kitchen & Bar, NYC, www.huertasnyc.com; The New Spanish: Bites Feasts & Drinks; Katrin Bjork, Blogger, Hudson Valley NY. https://modernwifestyle.com/, From The North: A Simple & Modern Approach to Authentic Nordic Cooking; Rawia Bishara, Chef-Owner, Tanoreen, Brooklyn,  www.tanoreen.com, Levant: New Middle Eastern Cooking from Tanoreen.

OTM Samples Cheese, Cheese & More Cheese as the American Cheese Society come to Pittsburgh

Cheese, Cheese & More Cheese. OTM covers the American Cheese Society Conference & Awards event, recently held in our home city of Pittsburgh. Cheesemakers at the Event, and some of the USA’s Best we met by phone ahead of the Show: David Jablons, Tomales Farmstead Creamery, Tomales CA, http://www.tolumafarms.com/; Kendall Russell, Lark’s Meadow Farms, Rexberg ID, https://www.larksmeadowfarms.com/;  Kathryn Spann, Prodigal Farm, Rougemont NC, http://prodigalfarm.com/;  Peggy Smith, Co-Founder, Cowgirl Creamery, Pt Reyes & San Francisco CA, https://www.cowgirlcreamery.com/about-us; Katie Fuhrmann, La Clare Family Creamery, Malone WI, https://www.laclarefamilycreamery.com/info;  Veronica Baetje, Baetje Farms, Bloomsdale MO, http://baetjefarms.com/

Fine Dining in Bilbao Spain. Andra Mari, Aretxondo, Eneko, Zortziko

Restaurants in Bilbao and vicinity:  Roberto& Maria Asua, Co-owners, Andra Mari & Aretxondo, Galdakao, http://www.andra-mari.com/en/ & http://www.aretxondo.com/, also Chef Eskerriik Asko, Margarita Atutxa & Zurine Garcia; Iker Barrenetxea Arando. Chef, Eneko Bilbao, Bilbao www.enekobilbao.restaurant; Daniel Garcia, Chef-Owner, Zortziko, El Viejo Zortzi, Atea, Bilbao, www.zortziko.es, www.viejozortzi.es, www.atearestaurante.com.

Still covering World's 50 Best; Elena Arzak, Andre Chiang, JPMcMahon; Mark Bright, Paolo Casagrande

On the Menu continues several weeks coverage of Spain’s Culinary scene and World’s 50 Best Restaurant Awards--A Week in Bilbao/San Sebastian and another in Barcelona.  Listen to: Elena Arzak, Chef-Partner, Arzak, San Sebastian, https://www.arzak.es/; Joana Vasconcelos (Lisbon, Portugal Artist), Food and Art Panelist at Bilbao Guggenheim conference, http://joanavasconcelos.com/index.aspx; Andre Chiang, Chef-Owner, Taipei, Taiwan, http://restaurantandre.com/; J P McMahon, Chef-Partner, Aniar Restaurant, Galway Ireland. http://aniarrestaurant.ie/; Mark Bright, Partner & Sommelier, Saison, San Francisco, www.saisonsf.com; Paolo Casagrande, Chef, Lasarte, Barcelona Spain, https://www.restaurantlasarte.com/,  https://www.monumenthotel.com/en/hotel-1/.

 

At World's 50 Best - Bilbao & San Sebastian; Eneko Atxa, Carme Ruscalleda, San Pau 30th Anniversary

On the Menu starts several weeks coverage of Spain’s Culinary Delights and the World’s 50 Best Restaurant Awards, “Basque Style”--a week in Bilbao-San Sebastian and another in Barcelona.  Massimo Bottura, Osteria Francescana in Modena, Italy,  https://www.osteriafrancescana.it/, returns to the Top Spot, and everybody is thrilled, even Spain’s Can Roca, Girona, https://cellercanroca.com/index.htm, which dropped the short distance to #2.  For more about 50 Best - https://www.theworlds50best.com/. Eneko Atxa, Chef-owner, Azurmendi, Bilbao, et al, https://azurmendi.restaurant/en, organized a Sustainabilty conference. Listen to his ideas re the world's food supply. Then, Carme Ruscalleda, Chef-Partner, Restaurant San Pau, https://www.ruscalleda.cat/en/, San Pol de Mar, Celebrating 30 Years (& us celebrating our 45th Wedding anniversary), shares her always-forward-thinking concepts.  

Bison, What's New at NJ's Canal House; Culinary Science Makes Cooking Better

Kathy Lund, CEO High Plains Bison, Denver CO, www.highplainsbison.com, and National Bison Association, www.bisoncentral.com; Christopher Hirsheimer & Melissa Hamilton, Owners, The Canal House, Milford NJ, www.thecanalhouse.com, What’s new at The Canal House, & working with John & Sukey Jamison on their soon-to-come new Book about their Latrobe PA organic Lamb Farm, https://www.jamisonfarm.com/; Jessica Gavin, Culinary Scientist, Orange County CA, www.jessicagavin.com & www.nutrilite.com, Easy Culinary Science for Better Cooking.

OTM will be at upcoming World's 50 Best, Cheese coming to Pittsburgh, Wine Talk, NYs Favorite Bars

World’s 50 Best Restaurant Awards is only 48 hours away. Tune in at https://www.finedininglovers.com/tag/50-best-restaurants. Then today's OTM program--Cheese, Wine & a Guide to NYC “watering holes:”. Nora Weiser, Executive Director, American Cheese Society, Denver CO, www.cheesesociety.org – the Upcoming 2018 Conference in Pittsburgh, July 25-28, 2018; Kathleen Bershad, Wine Educator, Armonk NY, http://finewineconcierge.com/, The Wine Lovers’s Apprentice; John Tebeau, Artist, Bar & Liquor Maven, NYC, https://tebeau.com/,  Bars Taverns & Dives New Yorkers Love.

Joan Nathan's Big Flavors. Indian Prepared Foods, Umami in Burgers & Pizza

Big Flavors, Ancient & Modern, Cuisines of Different Countries & Cultures.  Joan Nathan, Author & Journalist, Washington DC, www.joannathan.com, King Solomon’s Table; Chef Hari Nayak, Café Spice, Indian, Prepared Meals, 2018 winner of Gold Sofi Awards, Hudson Valley NY, www.cafespice.com; Adam Fleischman, Owner, Umami Burger & 800 Degrees Pizza (40 locations), www.umamiburger.com, Flavor Bombs: The Umami Ingredients That Make Taste Explode.

Life Experiences & Kitchen Secrets from Anissa Helou & LIdia Bastianich

Two Great Ladies of the culinary world share life experiences, history and kitchen secrets: Chef & Food Writer Anissa Helou, London, UK & Trapani, Sicily,  http://www.anissas.com/, Feast: Food of the Islamic World; Chef-Restaurateur, TV Personality & Author Lidia Matticchio Bastianich, Long Island NY, https://www.biography.com/people/lidia-bastianich, http://lidiasitaly.com/, My American Dream: A Life of Love Family & Food.

 

Will Drew, Organizer, World's 50 Best, Isabel's Cantina San Diego, Goodnow, Chocolate to die for

The Scoop on the 2018 World’s 50 Best Restaurant Awards: William Drew of William Reed Business Media, Founders & Organizers. Now in its 16th Year, the 50Best will run in Spain’s Basque Country, June 17-19 https://www.theworlds50best.com/blog/News/save-the-date-worlds-50-best-bilbao.html. Then, Isabel Cruz, Chef-Owner, Isabel’s Cantina, San Diego,  http://isabelscantinasd.com/, The Latin Table; and Tom Rogan, Co-Owner, Goodnow Farms, Sudbury MA, www.goodnowfarms.com, Makers of exqusite Single Origin Bean-to-Bar Chocolate. 

 

Southern US, South of the Border, White Oak Pastures, Table Secrets, Mexican Maguey Cactus Sap

Looking South—first, delicious traditions of The South USA, then reinvigorating vital Agrarian Roots in Georgia; and, finally, a Dietary Marvel to know about from “South of the Border:”  Virginia Willis, Author & Journalist, Atlanta GA, http://virginiawillis.com/; Secrets of the Southern Table; Will & Jenni Harris, Owners, White Oak Pastures, Bluffton GA, www.whiteoakpastures.com, Organic & All-Natural Meats and Vegetables, including Iberico Hogs finished on Pecans & Peanuts; Adriana Gomez, Founder, Salviana, Importer & Distributor, Raw Maguey Sap from Mexico - Sweetener, Prebiotic & Probiotic, Los Angeles, www.salviana.com.

 

Happy Mom's Day; Forever Cheese; Pressure Cooking in Italy

The 2018 James Beard Awards – some new themes &, as always, exciting winners. Then, listen to a woman who founded a successful career in Cheese, and one with the ultimate expertise in Pressure Cooking: Michele Buster, Founder, Forever Cheese, Long Island City NY, www.forevercheese.com; Laura Pazzaglia, Rome, Italy, www.hipcooking.com, HIP Pressure Cooking. Finally, to all you Mothers out there, have a Happy, Happy, Happy Day.

A 100 % Liquid Program - Cocktails, Michters Very Special Spirits, Garagistes Wines from Sonoma

This week we’re in an Imbibing State of Mind. First, Michter’s, founded in 18th Century Pennsylvania, is back in a big way with a 10-Year-aged Bourbon. Next, an American ”Italophile” explains that country’s Cocktail Culture. Finally, who knew about Wine made in Garages: Pamela Heilmann, Master Distiller, & Andrea Wilson, Master of Maturation, Michter’s, Louisville KY, https://michters.com/; Annette Jospeph, Lover of All Things Italian, Rome Italy, www.annettejosephstyle.com, Cocktail Italiano; Doug Minnick, Founder & Partner, Garagiste Wine Festival, May 12, 2018, Sonoma CA, https://www.sonomacounty.com/sonoma-events/garagiste-wine-festival-sonoma.

 

 

Advance Information on the James Beard Awards, King NYC, Bien Cuit, New Edition - Where Chefs Eat

Gearing up for the 2018 James Beard Awards, including conversations with two finalists, pplus an Indispensable Resource cataloging Chef’s' “little black books."  This year’s James Beard Awards return to Chicago, May 7. We chat about what these awards are all about, and how you can join in the fun.  Details at https://www.jamesbeard.org/awards/tickets.  Note that the Media Awards were in NYC April 29 were sold out. Today's OTM: Clare De Boer, Chef Partner, King, NYC, Finalist for Rising Star Chef, www.kingrestaurantnyc.com; Zachary Golper, Founder & Owner, Bien Cuit, NYC, Finalist for Best Baker, http://www.biencuit.com/; Joshua David Stein, Editor for The Americas, Where Chefs Eat – 3rd Edition & App, http://www.phaidon.com/store/food-cook/where-chefs-eat-9780714875651/.